Governing Body

Our Governing Body provides strategic leadership and accountability in school with a focus on 3 core areas:

  • Ensuring clarity of vision, ethos and strategic direction;
  • Holding the headteacher to account for the educational performance of the school and its pupils, and the performance management of staff;
  • Overseeing the financial performance of the school and making sure its money is well spent

The Full Governing Body holds its regular meetings once every term.  All Governors are expected to attend.  To read the minutes of these meetings, please see the documents at the bottom of this page.

Contact Our Governors

To contact the Board of Governors

To contact the Chair of Governors email:

or write, via the school office, to:

Chair of Governors
Oatlands School
St Mary's Road
KT13 9PZ


Meet Our Governors

Charles Langley (Chair of Governors)
Charles was elected as a Parent Governor in March 2022 and is now co-chair alongside Kathryn. He has had 2 daughters attend Oatlands and is keen to offer his time and enthusiasm to a school that has nurtured his children so well. Charles is a barrister with over 20 years’ experience. He also sits as a Recorder (part time Circuit Judge). He has considerable committee experience, having sat for the last 10 years on his chambers’ management committee with responsibility for decisions relating to finance, employment, lease negotiations, future business strategy and regulatory matters. He aims to use these skills to strengthen the board and be a worthy representative for other Oatlands’ parents.

Hilary Butler (LA Governor)
Hilary joined the Governing Body in September 2020. She is one of the Elmbridge Borough Councillors for the Oatlands and Burwood Park Ward and is the Local Education Authority’s appointed governor. She was previously a governor of a secondary school for ten years. Hilary is a Parliamentary Adviser, an English language teacher and currently Chair of the Personnel Committee.

Charlotte Clarke (Co-opted Governor)

Claire King (Co-opted Governor)
Claire joined Oatlands initially as an Associate Member in summer 2022, reporting to the Curriculum Committee and then as a full Governor in autumn 2022. She has two daughters at Oatlands. Claire has taught in the UK and overseas, with a depth of experience supporting a variety of nationalities. She was appointed Deputy Head for Curriculum whilst working in Oman and is experienced in leading a range of subjects. Claire recognises the importance of values-based learning and supporting children to be enthusiastic learners.

Liam McKeevor (Co-opted Governor)
Liam joined the Governing Board in April 2023. He is a chartered accountant and a chartered tax advisor with over 15 years experience. Earlier in his professional career he has advised and been part of teams auditing schools and colleges (both state and independent). Liam is Chair of the Finance Committee and has previously undertaken the independent examination of the school fund for the last three years. He had two daughters at Oatlands.

Devina Mistry (Co-opted Governor)
Devina joined the Oatlands Governing Body in July 2018. She has 2 children at Oatlands. Devina has worked in the field of corporate governance and risk management over the past 17 years across FTSE 100 companies and a leading professional services firm. Devina wishes to apply the skills she has gained in the corporate environment to the personal part of her life that has significantly grown in importance, being the management of education for children.

Hannah Nicholas (Staff Governor)
Hannah became a staff Governor in September 2019. She joined Oatlands in 2015, and is the Year 2 Leader. Having completed an Undergraduate degree in Sports Science, she moved onto completing a MSc in Sports Performance Analysis before completing a PGCE in Primary Education. She is committed to the Oatlands ethos and helping the school thrive.

Sara Nursaw (Parent Governor)
Sara joined the Governing Body in March 2022 and has 1 child currently at Oatlands. Sara has a background in operational management and heads a Corporate Responsibility function, with a focus on diversity and inclusion. Sara is passionate about inclusion, community engagement and continuous improvement.

Chrissy Prebble (Co-opted Governor)
Chrissy joined the Governing Body in 2018 as a Co-opted Governor. All three of her children previously attended and loved Oatlands school. Chrissy worked as a primary school teacher in London for 8 years before moving to Surrey to work as a consultant in primary Maths and English. She is passionate about education, helping children to develop a love of learning and the excellent values-based education that Oatlands offers. Chrissy is currently chair of the curriculum committee.

Asif Siddiqui (Co-opted Governor)
Asif joined the Governing Board in March 2024. He is a software development professional with over 23 years in the technology industry. Asif would like to apply his skills from the corporate environment to the community through his volunteering work which is becoming growingly important for him. He is passionate about inclusion and out-of-the-box thinking to fuel innovation. 

Alison Skeffington (Associate Member)
Alison joined the Governing Body in November 2011 as a Parent Governor and subsequently a Co-opted Governor. Alison became an associate member in November 2019. She has three children, who previously attended Oatlands. Alison is a qualified solicitor and teaches Law on the postgraduate Diploma in Legal Practice.

Moya Tytherleigh (Clerk to the Governors)
Moya became Clerk to the Governing Body in May 2017. She has two daughters, one at secondary school and one at 6th form college. Moya has over 30 years of admin experience and provides advice to the Governing Body on governance, constitutional and procedural matters as well as helping support and organise the governors with their busy timetable. Moya also supports the administration of partnership working and is Clerk to the Trustees of Cleves School.