The curriculum in Reception


The Early Years Foundation Stage

The EYFS is the curriculum for children aged from birth to the end of the reception year. In our school the children join us at the beginning of the school year in which they are five, either full or part-time. Children joining our school have already learned a great deal. Many have been to one of a wide range of settings where they have been working on the early stages of the EYFS curriculum.

The early years education we offer our children is based on the following principles:

  1. We build on what the child already knows and can do.

  2. We ensure that no child is excluded or disadvantage.

  3. We offer a structure for learning that has a range of starting points.

  4. Content that matches the needs of young children.

  5. Activities that take place both indoors and outdoors.

The curriculum is divided into seven broad areas of learning.